After the contents of the Codex were spread to other libraries around Europe, the astonishing visual quality of the manuscript, together with the fascinating stories told about its making, increased the curiosity of scribes and artists for both Biblical study and art. Having so much to choose from, they could often be quite creative in their use of the text. In Holland one can find miniatures of all sizes, usually of biblical scenes, with inscriptions referring to the subjects being illustrated. There are also miniatures with purely decorative purposes.
This codex is of such enormous size that only 160 volumes could be accommodated in the church of St. Gall in Switzerland, in which it was housed. It forms part of the Engelbert collection and the reliquaries of Sankt Gall were removed in the 16th century for rebuilding purposes and placed in the Cammerian cloister in Innsbruck. They were then removed from the city by Napoleon and moved to Paris. The reliquaries were largely reconstructed by the architect Rudolf Wenk in 1843.
Note that when this manuscript was created, it used the book format of four books in two columns, rather than the standard three-column format that is used in much later manuscripts. The Codex Gigas was originally in the possession of the Cathedral of Prague and is now being housed with the civic library in Prague, where it is kept in the collection of the National Library of the Czech Republic. 7211a4ac4a